Your buddy for everything RAV4, 2019 to 2025.
Home / Buying guides / Woodland vs Wilderness vs Badlands
Buying guide

RAV4 Woodland vs Forester Wilderness vs Bronco Sport Badlands: which is best for camping and dirt roads?

The 2026 RAV4 Hybrid and Plug-in Hybrid Woodland against the Forester Wilderness, the Bronco Sport Badlands and Toyota's electric bZ Woodland. What each one is good at, where each one struggles, and who should pick which.

So for gravel forest roads, washboard and the drive to a campsite, all four of these SUVs work. The 2026 RAV4 Hybrid Woodland ($39,900) is the efficient, roomy pick with a 1,500-watt outlet, and the Bronco Sport Badlands ($37,265 for 2026) has the best hardware for rough trails. The Forester Wilderness ($39,495 gas, $40,495 Hybrid for 2027) is the best rooftop tent and snow pick, with the most clearance and a flat floor. The electric bZ Woodland ($45,380 for 2027) is quick, but it's the least suited of the four to rough roads. Prices are MSRP before delivery, as Toyota and Ford listed them on October 15, 2026, and as Subaru announced them on September 17, 2026. And no published test puts all four together, or puts any of them on the same tires in snow.

So if you camp, you've probably typed some version of this. Woodland vs Wilderness vs Badlands, which is the best small SUV for forest service roads and dispersed camping? Is the RAV4 Woodland just a stickers-and-tires package? Can a RAV4 carry a rooftop tent? And does going electric work for trips? So in this guide I'll go through what each rugged trim actually has. Then I'll cover what the same-day trail tests showed, and how each one does for sleeping, roof tents and camp power.

Quick picks

What each rugged trim is, and which years

So before the numbers, here's what you're actually looking at with each of the four.

RAV4 Hybrid Woodland and RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid Woodland

The RAV4 Hybrid Woodland was sold from 2023 to 2025, and again for 2026 at $39,900 (Toyota, October 15, 2026). The Woodland is a RAV4 Hybrid with all-terrain tires, Trail mode and, for 2026, Downhill Assist Control. For 2026 there's also a RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid Woodland at $45,300 (Toyota, October 15, 2026), with 49 miles of electric range. My 2026 RAV4 trims guide goes through everything the Woodland adds.

Forester Wilderness and Forester Wilderness Hybrid

The Forester Wilderness has been sold since 2022, with a new body from 2026. It has a 180-horsepower 2.5-liter gas engine and a CVT, which is an automatic transmission without fixed gears. The 2027 gas Wilderness is $39,495 (Subaru, September 17, 2026). And for 2027 Subaru adds a Forester Wilderness Hybrid at $40,495, going on sale in late 2026. Subaru's site has no Wilderness Hybrid page yet, so that link goes to Subaru's Forester lineup page.

Bronco Sport Badlands

The Bronco Sport Badlands has been sold since 2021, and Ford has announced a 2027. The 2026 Badlands is $37,265 (Ford, October 15, 2026). It has a 250-horsepower 2.0-liter turbo engine, an 8-speed automatic and seven drive modes, including Rock Crawl. Ford recommends premium fuel for the Badlands engine, but regular is allowed. The Sasquatch Package adds bigger all-terrain tires and more clearance. Ford Authority listed the Sasquatch Package at $2,495 for 2026, but ford.com doesn't show that price.

bZ Woodland (the electric one)

The bZ Woodland is Toyota's rugged electric SUV for 2026 and 2027. The 2027 bZ Woodland is $45,380, and the bZ Woodland Premium is $47,480 (Toyota, October 15, 2026). The bZ Woodland has two motors, 375 horsepower and a 74.7 kWh battery. kWh, or kilowatt-hours, is the size of the battery. You'll sometimes see the bZ Woodland searched as the bZ4X Woodland or the bZ4X Trailhead Edition. But Toyota never sold a "bZ4X Trailhead Edition" in the US, and the bZ Woodland is the rugged electric Toyota people mean.

Woodland vs Wilderness vs Badlands vs bZ Woodland side by side

So here's everything in one table. These are the makers' numbers unless I say otherwise. The Bronco Sport numbers are from Ford's 2025 spec sheet. Car and Driver shows no hardware change on the Bronco Sport for 2026 or 2027.

What you're comparing2026 RAV4 Hybrid and Plug-in Hybrid Woodland2026 to 2027 Forester Wilderness, gas2027 Forester Wilderness Hybrid2025 to 2026 Bronco Sport Badlands (Sasquatch Package in brackets)2027 bZ Woodland
Price (MSRP, before delivery)Hybrid $39,900. Plug-in Hybrid $45,300. (Toyota, Oct 15, 2026)$39,495 for 2027 (Subaru, Sept 17, 2026)$40,495 (Subaru, Sept 17, 2026)$37,265 for 2026 (Ford, Oct 15, 2026)$45,380. Premium $47,480. (Toyota, Oct 15, 2026)
Delivery fee$1,595 (Toyota, Oct 15, 2026)$1,475$1,475Not shown on ford.com$1,450 per Electrek in Feb 2026. Toyota's price builder has the current fee.
Ground clearance8.5 in9.3 in9.3 in8.1 in [8.7 in]8.4 in
Approach / breakover / departure angle, in degrees20 / not published / 2423.5 / 21.0 / 25.523.5 / 20.6 / 25.530.0 / 20.4 / 26.7 [31.2 / 21.7 / 27.9]17.8 / not published / 21.2
How the AWD reaches the rear wheelsA separate rear electric motor. No driveshaft.A driveshaft. All four wheels powered all the time.A driveshaft (mechanical AWD)A driveshaft to a twin-clutch rear unit that can lock both rear wheels togetherA second motor on the rear axle
Hill descent and crawl helpDownhill Assist Control, Trail mode and Snow modeX-MODE with Hill Descent Control and Gradient ControlX-MODE with Hill Descent ControlTrail Control and Rock Crawl modeX-MODE, Grip Control and Downhill Assist Control
Factory tiresDunlop GrandTrek all-terrain (exact model not confirmed by Toyota, and Dunlop's US site has no page for this tire, so the link goes to Dunlop's tire lineup)Yokohama Geolandar all-terrain, 235/60R17Yokohama Geolandar all-terrainContinental CrossContact ATR 225/65R17, about $156 a tire on tiresize.com (Oct 15, 2026) [bigger 235/65R17 all-terrain tires]All-season 235/60R18. All-terrain 235/65R18 optional.
Spare tireCompact temporary spareFull-size spare wheel, on a 225 mm all-terrain tire that's narrower than the 235 road tiresNot stated by SubaruFull-size spare. Driving Sports TV says it doesn't match the road tires.Tire repair kit only, no spare
Underbody protectionNo skid plates and no recovery points"Enhanced underbody protection" and a small front skid plate"Enhanced underbody protection"A large steel front skid plate, more plates underneath, and fold-out front tie-downsPlastic front and rear, one small steel plate ahead of the battery, and no recovery points
Roof load176.4 lb driving. Toyota publishes no parked number.800 lb parked, per Subaru dealers and reviewers800 lb parked (Subaru)Rack sellers quote Ford at 150 lb driving and 600 lb parkedNot published
Cargo, behind the back seat / back seat foldedPlug-in Hybrid 33.6 cu ft behind the back seat. Hybrid: see my RAV4 cargo by year table.27.5 / 69.1 cu ft27.5 / more than 69 cu ft29.4 / 60.6 cu ft [29.1 / 60.2]33.8 / 74.3 cu ft
Floor length with the back seat foldedAbout 72 to 74 in usable70.7 inNot published57.1 in behind the front seats, 65.0 in to the closed liftgateNot published
Household outlet120V, 1,500W in the cargo areaNone. A 12V socket only, per Driving Sports TV.Not stated110V, 400W in the back seat and cargo area120V, 1,500W
EPA ratingHybrid 38 mpg combined. Plug-in Hybrid 49 miles electric.24 city / 28 highway / 26 combined mpgNot rated yet. Subaru says up to 25% better than the gas Wilderness.21 / 27 / 23 mpg117 MPGe and 281 miles of range, or 109 MPGe and 260 miles on the all-terrain tires.
Towing3,500 lb, hitch standard3,500 lb, hitch extraNot stated2,700 lb3,500 lb

So here's what a few of those terms mean. Ground clearance is the space under the lowest part of the SUV. Approach angle is how steep a slope the SUV can start up before the front bumper hits the ground. Departure angle is the same thing at the back bumper. And breakover angle is how sharp a crest the middle of the SUV can cross without getting stuck on its belly.

And for the driving aids, basically, Hill Descent Control and Toyota's Downhill Assist Control both hold a slow speed down a steep hill so you don't ride the brakes. Ford's Trail Control, Subaru's Gradient Control and Toyota's Grip Control are all low-speed cruise controls for crawling over rough ground. X-MODE is Subaru's setting for slippery or rough ground, and Toyota uses the same name on the bZ Woodland.

The approach angle is the biggest hardware gap

So the Bronco Sport Badlands' 30-degree approach angle is about 10 degrees better than the 2026 RAV4 Woodland's 20, and 12 better than the bZ Woodland's 17.8. In TFLoffroad's test, the driver said the Bronco Sport is "over 30°, so you can really tackle some larger obstacles."

Now the Forester Wilderness wins on clearance. At 9.3 inches, the Wilderness sits highest of the four. A stock Badlands has 8.1 inches, the same as the 2023 to 2025 RAV4 Hybrid Woodland. Driving Sports TV called the Forester "the king of ground clearance in the class," but said its lower approach angle "can minimize this advantage on tricky trails."

And Toyota doesn't publish a breakover angle for the RAV4 or the bZ Woodland. The Forester Wilderness is 21.0 degrees and the Badlands is 20.4. On Driving Sports TV's see-saw obstacle, the Forester got stuck on its belly, and the Badlands got through with "not a single grind." On a straight drive over a hump, the Forester rubbed and the Badlands "just kisses it."

How each one's AWD works, in plain terms

What the same-day trail tests showed

So no published test puts all four together. But four tests pair them up, and each one tells you something.

RAV4 Woodland vs Forester Wilderness (Edmunds, December 2025)

So Edmunds took a 2026 RAV4 Woodland, a 2026 Forester Wilderness and a Honda CR-V TrailSport off road. On the second hill climb, the RAV4 Woodland failed on its first try, then made it with more throttle. The Forester climbed "one-handed."

Forester Wilderness vs Bronco Sport Badlands (Driving Sports TV, October 2025)

Now Driving Sports TV ran a 2026 Forester Wilderness against a 2025 Bronco Sport Badlands that they'd bought. Their Badlands had Falken Wildpeak A/T4W tires in 235/65R17, which gave it the Sasquatch's 8.7 inches of clearance.

Bronco Sport vs gas RAV4 TRD Off-Road (TFLoffroad, February 2024)

So this test used the gas RAV4 TRD Off-Road, not a Woodland, against a Bronco Sport with the Badlands' off-road hardware. Both made it up both sides of a hill at about 9,000 feet. But the RAV4 "really starts to struggle" on the harder side, because it "didn't have enough power" and has no low range.

The RAV4 also has "no proper integrated recovery point." On the other hand, the RAV4 had more cargo room, 37.5 cubic feet against about 29 as TFL measured, and better mileage, 28 mpg against 23. TFL's verdict was that the Bronco Sport is "a much more capable vehicle," and the RAV4 is "good for dirt roads."

RAV4 Woodland vs bZ Woodland on the same tires (TFL, October 2026)

So TFL put a 2026 RAV4 Woodland and a bZ Woodland on the same Dunlop GrandTrek all-terrain tires. On the rollers, the bZ Woodland passed all four tests, "not elegant," using Grip Control. The RAV4 Woodland failed the last one, because "the rear motor just doesn't have enough oomph."

In TFL's trench pit, both made it up. Their verdict was that "if the challenge got tougher, the bZ Woodland would probably come out on top," but the RAV4 Woodland is "good enough."

The bZ Woodland on rougher ground (Truck King, July 2026)

Now Toyota Canada asked Truck King to take a bZ Woodland off road, and Truck King did it on the standard road tires. The front bumper cover dug in at a small water hole, and they skipped the deeper ruts. They needed a spotter on a rock section, and the bZ Woodland has no recovery points. Their verdict was "a rough-roader, not an off-roader."

For more on the RAV4 Woodland off road, including Driving Sports TV's tests of the 2023 and 2026 Woodland, see my RAV4 off-road guide.

Camping in each one: sleeping inside, rooftop tents and power

For campsites, gear and trip ideas, my camping section has the rest.

Sleeping in the back

Rooftop tents

So the Forester Wilderness is the only one of the four with a parked roof rating in a maker's document. Subaru lists 800 pounds parked for the Wilderness Hybrid, and dealers and reviewers give the same 800 pounds for the 2026 gas Wilderness. The parked, or static, number is what the roof holds while you sleep up there. The driving, or dynamic, number is what the roof can carry on the move.

Toyota gives the RAV4 a 176.4 lb driving limit and no parked number. For the Bronco Sport, the 150 lb driving and 600 lb parked numbers come from roof rack sellers quoting Ford, not from a Ford document. And one owner says Ford support told them 100 lb. Nothing is published for the bZ Woodland. My rooftop tents guide does the tent math for the RAV4.

Camp power

So the RAV4 Hybrid Woodland, the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid Woodland and the bZ Woodland all have a 120-volt, 1,500-watt outlet. The Bronco Sport Badlands has a 110-volt, 400-watt outlet. That's enough for phones, a laptop or a small 12-volt style cooler, but not a space heater or an electric kettle. The Forester Wilderness only has a 12-volt socket, per Driving Sports TV.

And the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid Woodland and the bZ Woodland can run their outlets overnight on battery power. My guide to the RAV4's power outlet goes through what 1,500 watts can run.

Going electric: the bZ Woodland for camping trips

So the bZ Woodland gets 281 miles of EPA range, or 260 on the all-terrain tires. It has a NACS port, the Tesla-style plug, and Toyota says it charges from 10 to 80% in about 30 minutes on a fast charger. Keep in mind that running the 1,500-watt outlet at camp uses the same battery you drive on. And there's no spare tire, only a repair kit.

So the bZ Woodland works if you charge at home and your trips stay within about 120 miles of a fast charger each way. But for remote dirt roads far from a charger, the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid Woodland is the safer Toyota, with 49 electric miles and then gas. I compare range and charging costs in my hybrid vs plug-in vs electric guide, and the bZ against other plug-ins in my RAV4 Plug-in vs rivals guide.

Which one is best in snow

So no test has put these four on the same tires in snow. The Forester Wilderness powers all four wheels all the time and has the most clearance. The Bronco Sport Badlands has driveshaft AWD with 4WD Lock and a Slippery mode. And the bZ Woodland's two motors beat the RAV4 Woodland on TFL's rollers. For the RAV4 against the Forester in real snow, see the snow tests in my RAV4 vs Forester guide.

Recalls, resale and the 2027 Bronco Sport changes

Here are the recall counts by model year from NHTSA, the government's vehicle safety agency, as of October 15, 2026.

ModelRecalls by model year
Bronco Sport, 1.5-liter and 2.0-liter engines counted together2021: 16. 2022: 15. 2023: 14. 2024: 8. 2025: 7. 2026: 6.
Forester, all trims2022: 1. 2023: 1. 2024: 2. 2025: 3. 2026: 3.
RAV4 Hybrid, all trims2023: 1. 2024: 2. 2025: 2. 2026: 1.
bZ Woodland2026: 1

Keep in mind the Bronco Sport count covers both engines, and many of those recalls are for the 1.5-liter, not the Badlands' 2.0-liter. So run the VIN, the 17-character vehicle ID on the windshield, through NHTSA's recall lookup rather than reading the count as a Badlands problem list.

And for 2027, Ford cut the Badlands price by $505. But the power driver's seat, dual-zone automatic climate and auto-dimming mirror are no longer standard on the 2027 Badlands. Ford also dropped auto stop-start from every 2027 trim, and Car and Driver says the 2027 Badlands lost its rear under-seat storage.

For resale, the RAV4 holds 2 to 10 points more of its value than the Forester at the same age. I go through that in my RAV4 vs Forester guide.

Older years of each rugged trim

So if you're shopping used, the 2020 to 2024 gas RAV4 TRD Off-Road is still the most capable used RAV4. My RAV4 off-road guide goes through why. The 2023 to 2025 RAV4 Hybrid Woodland has only 8.1 inches of clearance and no hill descent control. So off road, the 2023 to 2025 Woodland sits below a used 2022 to 2025 Forester Wilderness or a 2021 to 2024 Bronco Sport Badlands.

Who should pick which

So there are a few cases where the RAV4 Woodland isn't the best fit.

But otherwise, if you mostly drive highway and gravel forest roads, the 2026 RAV4 Hybrid Woodland would be my pick. You get 38 mpg combined, a 1,500-watt outlet and room for the dog.

So ultimately, for most campers who stick to dirt roads, the RAV4 Woodland does the job. And if your trips go rougher, deeper into snow, or you want a rooftop tent, the Forester Wilderness or the Bronco Sport Badlands is worth the trade. So hopefully this helps you pick the right one for the trips you take.

Videos worth watching on these four

Honda CR-V TrailSport vs. Toyota RAV4 Woodland vs. Subaru Forester Wilderness: Off-Road Comparison, from Edmunds, December 2025, 28 minutes.

This is the only same-day test of the 2026 RAV4 Woodland against the Forester Wilderness on hills, washboard and sand.

  • The hill climb: The RAV4 Woodland got stuck once on the second climb and made it on a retry. The Forester Wilderness had the easiest time.
  • Washboard and sand: The RAV4 Woodland felt "rickety," with vague steering and brakes that struggled on loose ground. The Forester felt sure-footed.
  • Camping notes: Edmunds calls the RAV4's folded floor "mostly flat" and the Forester's flat. Of the three, only the Forester has a full-size spare.
  • The verdict: The Forester wins in the dirt. The RAV4 is the pick if you want mileage, 3,500 lb towing or the household outlet.
2026 Forester Wilderness vs. Bronco Sport Badlands Shootout, from Driving Sports TV, October 2025, 67 minutes.

This long test goes through the Forester Wilderness and the Bronco Sport Badlands on and off road, with the specs read out on camera.

  • The specs: The numbers the host reads out match Subaru's and Ford's sheets, including the Badlands' 30-degree approach angle and the Forester's 9.3 inches of clearance.
  • The see-saw: The Forester Wilderness got stuck on its belly. The Badlands crossed it without a scrape.
  • Underneath: The Badlands has a big steel skid plate and a 400-watt outlet. The host calls the Forester's skid plate "tiny by comparison."
  • The verdict: The Forester is the better daily car with more cargo room, and the Badlands has more off-road hardware.
  • Keep in mind: Driving Sports TV bought this Badlands, and the host also owns a Subaru.
Toyota RAV4 vs bZ Woodland AWD Slip Test, from The Fast Lane Car, October 2026, 20 minutes.

This is the one test of the RAV4 Woodland and the bZ Woodland on the same tires.

  • The tires: Both wore the same Dunlop GrandTrek all-terrain tires.
  • The rollers: The bZ Woodland passed every roller test using Grip Control, roughly. The RAV4 Woodland failed the last one with only one rear wheel touching.
  • The trench course: Both made it up.
  • The verdict: The bZ Woodland is more capable when things get hard, and the RAV4 Woodland is good enough for most people.
Ford Bronco Sport vs Toyota RAV4 TRD Off-Road, from TFLoffroad, February 2024, 17 minutes.

This one uses the gas RAV4 TRD Off-Road, not a Woodland, but it shows the gap in hardware against the Bronco Sport clearly.

  • The hill: Both made it up both sides. The RAV4 ran short of pull on the hard side.
  • The hardware: The Bronco Sport has recovery points and an approach angle over 30 degrees.
  • Where the RAV4 wins: More cargo room and better mileage.
  • The verdict: The Bronco Sport is the trail toy, and the RAV4 is for dirt roads.

Have a question about “RAV4 Woodland vs Forester Wilderness vs Bronco Sport Badlands: which is best for camping and dirt roads?”?

Ask it here. Every question comes to me first. I answer as many as I can, and each answered question goes on this page with my answer so other RAV4 owners can see it too. I don't ask for your email, so check back on this page for the answer.

Where this comes from

RAV Buddy is an independent fan site. We're not affiliated with or endorsed by Toyota. RAV4 is a trademark of Toyota Motor Corporation.